When I’m 91

Lost in my thoughts, heavy in heart, and listening to Tom Yorke’s epic vocals on Radiohead’s the Bends album I almost walked right by the little old struggling lady.

But thankfully I saw her out of the corner of my eye struggling with a metal grocery cart. Stuck in a deep dirty puddle of water and pulling at her cart in vain, even her black face mask, couldn’t cover the disapointment all over her face.

I could relate.

I quickly reached out my hands, one hand I placed in her small one and the the other I placed on the cart and gave a gentle pull.

But it wasn’t gentle enough for her! She gave a surprised little yelp as her and the cart were pulled safely by me to the sidewalk. It wasn’t as though they went sailing through the air but I guess it was a bit startling for her!

Perhaps, she will be glad for my kindness…

“I hope you are okay when you are 91!” She said glaring hard at me.

I wasn’t even offended and couldn’t help but blurt out, “God bless you! You have seen so much!” She thought for a moment and finally me a cool nod and turned back to her shopping cart.

“Can I help you home? It’s no problem.” I said meaning it.

“No, I ‘m fine from here.”

“Okay,” I said feeling reluctant as she struggled to push the cart.

I put my earbuds back in and continued on to my errands but then…

I quickly fished through my backpack and pulled out one of my Ray Comfort, ‘How not to be Afraid of Death’ tracts and turned back to her.

“Miss!!” I called holding out the tract to her.

“Will, you please read this?”

The woman looked at me like I was nuts but she decided to take it from my hand.

“Yes.” Was all she said and continued to head home.

What did it all mean??

I interpreted the incident to be confirmation that I need to be work on being mindful of people’s frailties while at the same time appreciative of the gifts they are in my life.

There are times in life when the ones we love may in weakness or sickness. They will be figuratively stuck in a puddle pulling in vain at a shopping cart. Their strength not the same as it once was. They may only have so much to give.

In those moments, they need understanding and the lending of our strength. And even if they aren’t able to give a glowing review of our efforts, even if they aren’t all rainbows and starshine- it doesn’t mean we withdraw our love and starshine.

Maybe our role in this life is more then anything to be an encouragement, a lightness to counter someone’s heaviness?

But maybe we lose sight…

It seems so easy to forget how precious people are and only focus on the negative.

Will I be okay when I am 91??

If I stay with Jesus, take my chastenments with humility and I remember my role to be salt and light…. I think-

yes-

yes I will okay.






Leave a comment