Jesus Saves! But from what??

“We have not dreamt our religion, it has not come to us as a vision of the night, but when we were fully awake, we saw Christ’s glory.” Charles Spurgeon

I believe that the testimonies of souls who have been truly born again are as vast and unique as fingerprints, no two can be the same!

But what does it even mean to be born again??

Jesus says: Truly, truly I say to you, unless one is born again he can not see the kingdom of God. That which is born of the flesh is flesh, and that which is born of the Spirit is spirit. Part of John 3.

There are many millions of people professing to be “Christian” yet- they have not been born again.

When one comes to an end of themselves and chooses to believe that:

For God so loved the world that he gave his only begotten son, that whosoever believes in him should not perish but have eternal life. John 3:16

When you chose by faith to believe that Jesus has indeed died for your sins… when God mercifully opens your eyes to the fact that you are a sinner in need of salvation…

God shows you that your wages of sin owe a debt that you can never pay off- no matter how ‘good’ or nice a person you may be…

For the wages of sin is death, but the free gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord. Romans 6:23. The wages of our sins are a thousands little deaths in this life and finally a second and eternal death, damnation to hell.

But we think, my way is a good way, I haven’t killed anyone, I give to charity, I”m for social justice, I take care of the enviroment, etc… etc…

We all like sheep have gone astray; we have turned-every one-to his own way; and the Lord has laid on him the iniquity of us all. Isaiah 53:6

And there is a way that seems right to a man, but it’s end leads to death. Proverbs 14:12

When by the grace of God, we hear the Gospel which is the good news of salvation through faith in Jesus and believe and repent of our sins- then we are born again.

“A Christian testimony is given when Christians relate how we came to know the God of the Bible through the moving of the Holy Spirit in our hearts.” Got Questions.org

For example, Jesus has saved me! But from what?? The list is so long that I will only mention a few…

A hatred of authority, a life of depression , confusion, with no true sense of purpose, sexual immorality, bondage to men (I believed I could not live without the love of a man) unforgiveness towards those who had wounded me, bitterness and envy towards certain people I viewed as having it better then me-be it looks or other circumstances, the darkness of eastern religion-the occult, witchcraft… there is so much more but the biggest to me is being saved from a life without knowing the one and only true God of this universe!

In all of this misery- I was deceived. My ‘way’ seem right to me. I considered myself a very ‘spiritual’ person, a woke person if you will. But this ‘wokeness’ was a counterfeit of what it means to be truly born again.

When you become born again you come to understand and believe without a doubt the words of Jesus:

I am the way, and the truth, and the life. No one can come to the Father except through me. John 14:6

Suddenly, in the blink of an eye you will be made alive by the Holy Spirit of God and you will see your way that seems, ‘good’ for what it is- it is a way without and against God.

So we become saved.

Saved from a life apart from God, saved from the chains that bind and blind us, saved from eternal death-

We put our faith and trust in God who can be trusted.

God is not human, that he should lie, not being a human being, that he should change his mind. Does he speak and then not act? Does he promise and not fulfill? Numbers 23:19

As for God, his way is perfect. The word of God is flawless; he shields all who take refuge in him. Psalm 18:30

And the heavens proclaim his righteousness, for he is a God of justice. Psalm 50:6

The Lord is gracious and righteous; our God is full of compassion. Psalm 116:5

Will you chose to believe in Jesus today? He is waiting with open arms and the adventure of a life time. It won’t be a life without pain and sacrifice

but it will be a life of the testimony of His steadfast love and faithfulness…

Fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand… part of Isaiah 41:10

… For he has said, I will never leave thee, nor forsake thee. part of Hebrew 13:5

“Being born again by the Spirit of God is the great miracle, the greatest display of the glory of God ever.” Spurgeon. The picture of me below- a wild, rebellious party girl, who thought she was ‘woke’ but was truly lost and hurting- vegan at the time because I wanted to follow the compassion taught in Buddhism, ( I still appreciate vegan food but it won’t solve ones search for peace( thinking that Buddist compassion would bring me some kind of peace , ever searching for meaning and wisdom in eastern religion and finding none. The picture of water- the freshness of beauty of a life lived for Christ.

Jesus Saves! But from what??

Leave a comment