Salty or Salt and Light?

20191230_181308

” Ohhhh-Woah-woah-living life in the city-woah-woah-it will never be pretty…” The Lumineers

My alarm is set to the rooster crow sound-

cock a doodle do- cock a doodle do- do I want to get out of my warm and cozy bed??

The answer is no

But still I go… I have some precious time, before I am due at work..

I wake and place my cute new teapot on the stove and cut the pretty bright

yellow lemon

Next it’s time to pray

So much to say to the One who thought to give me this day…

Sipping hot lemon water, just me and you Jesus-

Go with me and help me to be a salt and a light

Because this city isn’t pretty.

Out into my neighborhood- I put my headphones in

and sing along to my lastest favorite song- Dua Lipa’s ‘Don’t Start Now’

My phone dings with texts and emails

Distracted I scroll and try to type and then I look up

a woman cursing into her phone,

A young skateboarder skating right towards me but he flips his board at the last minute

In an attempt to avoid him

I have stepped in a small pile of poop.

Shoe into the grass,

I’ve got to go!

Can’t let this make me walk slow.

Race underground and hop onto the sub

There is a seat next to a woman who could possibly be a man

they look so unhappy… I smile and compliment their nail polish and he/she looks up

They look absolutely miserable

And I think to myself, something horrible must have happened-maybe when they were a child

I fish through my backpack for a tract

hand it away and pray someday they will visit my church -I offer some kind of words of hope

The train suddenly stalls-we are stuck at 30th Street Station

I jump up and switch my music to Abba- the song, ‘SOS ‘to be exact and

Take the elevator to the wrong floor!

Darn, I wanted to be on the street but instead I

am back underground again.

So I to take the trolley to 13th and Market

Above ground, a cute guy with a clip board in his hand approaches me

Will I sign to get Bloomberg on the Democratic ticket?

No, I won’t because I like President Trump I say in a kind and gentle way,

I’m not looking for a fight

Ya, know I don’t mind him myself- the man says much to my surprise and

We both burst out laughing

As a homeless man staggers by us,

As  a car lays on their horn,

As constructions workers drill into the concrete

We are in this together

I think this as my bus approaches

Hey, says the man-your voice is cute!

I board the bus and say to him-

You are cute too by the way…

And I’m off.

Finally, I arrive in my beloved Olde City

In time to order my coffee and  yes Philadelphia isn’t always pretty

But I know I was born for this life in the city. 🙂

 

 

Leave a comment