Royal

But you are a choosen generation, a royal priesthood, an holy nation, a particular people; that you should show forth the praises of him who has called you out of darkness into his marvelous light; 1Peter 2:9

This grey November afternoon as I sip a coffee at Starbucks, my mind is set on a bright and beautiful subject and that is royalty. There is a show I really really love called: ‘The Last Kingdom’ it tells the story of King Alfred and his kingdom subjects, the Saxtons and the constant enemies of his lands-the Danes or Vikings. The actor David Dawson who plays King Alfred does a mesmerizing job as the at first reluctant and at times emotionally tormented King. ( I must warn, there are scenes that will need to be fast forwarded. Some Christians aren’t okay with that sort of thing and some are. )

For all his flaws one thing is certain about this king- He takes his duties to his realm with the utmost reverence. There is a scene- sickly and weak from some mysterious illness that has plagued him for most of his reign- He still manages to sit a top his horse and head out to battle. With a shaking hand he raises up his sword once more and you see his subjects kneel all around him. “Long live the king!” they shout. There is no doubt King Alfred has his people’s hearts in that moment.

Why?

Because he ruled well and wisely.

“The Greek word for kingdom in the New Testament is basileia, which ultimately means “authority” and “rule” A kingdom always includes three fundamental components: a ruler, a realm of subjects who fall under its rule, and rules or governances.” Excerpt from: Kingdom Single, by Tony Evans. Tony goes on to say: “Now you may not consider yourself a ruler. Certainly a crown doesn’t sit atop your head as it did Queen Elizabeth’s. But as we go through certain Scripture passages, you may be surprised to discover you have been uniquely empowered to rule over a a sphere of influence God has assigned to you.” Wow! And there we have it, the general idea on my heart today is today is

as born again Christians, we each have our own little unique kingdom assigned to us by God.

When I apply this to myself, as silly as it seems, I think of my 2 cats. How do I treat my little furry subjects? I think of my job as a nanny-the babies I help to care for and the parents I daily interact with. I think of the barista at the coffee shop who makes my coffee, the Uber drivers who take me here and there- am I kind to them? How do I carry myself and dress? As a royal princess of the Most High King of the Universe?

It’s helpful to remember this life is but a preparation for when we will rule and reign someday with King Jesus. I want to ride my horse valiantly on that sweet day, my born again character forged by the trials and tears of this life . So pick up your sword and shield and fight today for what God has so kindly given you to rule over.

Leave a comment