Always Enough

And my God will supply every need of yours according to his riches in glory in Christ Jesus. Philippians 4:19

You never know what lessons in the Lord a day can bring…

I hastily jumped into my Lyft this morning making sure it was the right car but not checking the driver.

“Hello, how is your day going?” I asked beginning to scroll though my cell.

“Arwen.” The driver said in a deep voice.

I looked up startled.

I noticed the driver had taped a thick plastic all along the back for Covid protection. Where a person could usually see through to the driver, the plastic absolutely blocked any view of him it was so thick.

“Yes?” I asked. He had my attention.

“I love your voice.” He said simply as I breathed a sigh of relief.

“Thank you so much! I really appreciate that.” I said sincerely meaning what I said. It always makes me happy when my God given voice makes others happy.

“With a voice like that, you’ll always be young….” He said with a friendly chuckle.

” I suppose you are right!” I said feeling encouraged because just lately I haven’t been so excited about my age.

We proceeded to have a nice chat as I imagined what my invisible driver might look like… I pictured an older African American man, maybe a salt and pepper mustache?

Once we pulled up to my dental office, I fished through my backpack for my Ray Comfort tracts, found one and reached around the plastic.

“Hey, you were a blessing, hope you will read these!” I said handing the tract to him.

As I hop out of his car I look into the window and our eyes meet.

There is a satanic agenda at work in America, the media, the powers of darkness are trying with all of their might to create racial strife… but in that moment- a black man and a white woman waved happily to one another like little children.

I turn from the driver feeling grateful for our exchange and head inside to meet the dentist who wants to give me a dental implant.

He greets me with a smile and asks me about the weather. I am floored by his accent. He is a real life Englishman!

I learn he is from London and begin to ramble like the hopeless fan girl of all things English I am.

“Oh, my goodness!! London is my favorite place in the whole wide world!!” I exclaim watching as he grins.

“Oh, have you been?” He asks handing me the big white goggles I have to wear for the examine.

“No, I haven’t…” I admit suddenly growing quiet.

“”But how can it be your favorite place then?” He asks in all fairness.

“You have probably seen all of the English Netflix shows have you?”He asks kindly concluding the matter for me.

“Yes, that’s part of it!” I say deciding to let it go because how to explain my admiration and love for all things English. My dreams of having a honeymoon in the English country side etc. etc.

Oh, Lord- I wish you would send me an English husband- I would love him forever and ever.… I think as I gaze out the office window.

But you know what, it’s enough just to listen to this man’s accent. It’s not my time for a wedding ring.

For now, it’s just a dental bib.

We smile at one another and my English dentist begins what I thought would be impossibility- a dental implant! But God- How He does supply! God has given me dental insurance and not only that but a grant for a usually very pricey implant. Not only that, but the dentist mentions me taking part in a study which could if I am approved, further bring down the price!

After the appointment, I head to the grocery store and end up with two heavy bags of groceries. I walk them to the bus stop and have a sudden thought! The Indian store with the baskets of fresh samosa’s is a few blocks back.

Should I circle back just for the samosas?? Yes!

I pull up my hood to brace myself against the biting cold wind and head back the way I had just came.

A cozy mixture of curry and incense greets me as I enter the little Indian store.

I see them. Four golden samosas left.

“I’ll take two samosas.” The girl in front of me says to my surprise.

Oh no! I had planned to buy four.

My disappointment quickly turns to annoyance as a man budges in front of me and stands on his tippy toes to see the samosas. I feel too tired to object when the cashier asks whose next.

Just then a girl comes out from the back of the store carrying another basket full of samosas!

I feel foolish for being so pouty and thank God in my heart for His grace. He is always there, watching and providing for his children.

Back at the bus stop, I chew slowly on a samosa with a still numb mouth. I must look a bit strange. Hmmm… I think chewing…how many rides do I have left on my Septa Keycard, doing the math in my head…

A young mailman walks by me and we make awkward eye contact. The bus pulls up as I fumble to grab a hold of my bags. The mailman boards before me and turns and says: “I swiped you on.”

“Oh, wow! Thank you so much!” How kind of him I think.

He is standing next to the seat were I sit and once again I dig through my backpack for my Ray Comfort tracts.

“You were a blessing to me, so I want to bless you!” I say this handing him a tract.

“Oh, okay thanks…” the mailman says looking perplexed.

“Have you ever thought about where you will go when you die?” I ask.

“Uh-No, I haven’t really thought about it, I mean I guess I will be reencarnated.”

I don’t sense an open door with him but I am suddenly reminded how many people are walking around with no clue of eternity. But even this realization is another example of God supplying my every need. I needed to meet this man so I can pray for him.

He gave me a free bus ride but I determine to give him something much better- a spot on my prayer list.

Not that I am anything! I am just a little worm but God… God is faithful!! He is the one who makes my prayer list a thing of His glory.

And so my lessons for today show again and again that there will always be enough with God-for He knows how to perfectly provide all of our needs.

Leave a comment